Discuss stuff related to HaloCE (for modding, go to the HEK General forum).
Skull2
Posts: 42 Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:27 pm
Location: Auburn, Washington
Contact:
Post
by Skull2 » Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:39 pm
ok here is what i put in and what it told me, plz help;
Code: Select all
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Halo Custom Edition>tool
Couldn't read map file './toolbeta.map'
usage: tool verb <options..>
model source-directory
animations source-directory
strings source-directory
unicode-strings source-directory
bitmaps source-directory
bitmap source-file
structure scenario-directory bsp-name
structure-lens-flares bsp-name
structure-breakable-surfaces structure-name
collision-geometry source-directory
physics source-file
sounds directory-name platform<xbox,wav,ogg> ogg_only_value_flag<quality or bi
trate>
sounds_by_type directory-name type <round to 64 samples:yes/no>
build-cache-file <scenario-name>
windows-font
hud-messages <path> <scenario-name>
lightmaps <scenario> <bsp index> <quality> <stop threshhold>
process-sounds <root path> <substring> <gain+|gain-|gain=|maximum-distance|min
imum-distance> <value>
merge-scenery <source scenario> <destination scenario>
zoners_model_upgrade
import-device-defaults <defaults|profiles> <savegame path>
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Halo Custom Edition>tool bitmaps levels\spartan
\bitmaps
Couldn't read map file './toolbeta.map'
### Sparta_III_TrainingArea.tif
skipping bitmap with non-power-of-two dimensions (#1012x#1012#1)
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Halo Custom Edition>tool bitmaps levels\spartan
\bitmaps
Couldn't read map file './toolbeta.map'
### Spartan.tif
skipping bitmap with non-power-of-two dimensions (#1012x#1012#1)
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Halo Custom Edition>
I also saw on another post here to put quotes around the directory parameter and so i did but still nothing:
Code: Select all
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Halo Custom Edition>tool bitmaps "levels\sparta
n\bitmaps"
Couldn't read map file './toolbeta.map'
### Spartan.tif
skipping bitmap with non-power-of-two dimensions (#1012x#1012#1)
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Halo Custom Edition>
warlord
Posts: 1242 Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 9:07 am
Location: britain/ england/ lincolnshire
Post
by warlord » Sun Feb 10, 2008 1:40 am
Tool Bitmaps Levels\spartan
You don't put the bitmaps bit in the source folder.
goyanks135
Posts: 205 Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 5:38 pm
Post
by goyanks135 » Sun Feb 10, 2008 5:41 am
as the error says, your bitmap needs to be in a power of 2 dimentions. That means the image must be 2x2, 4x4, 8x8... 512x512, 1024x1024 pixeles. It is creating an error because yours is 1012x1012. Add 12 pixels to the length and width of your image. Then it should work.
Skull2
Posts: 42 Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:27 pm
Location: Auburn, Washington
Contact:
Post
by Skull2 » Sun Feb 10, 2008 2:29 pm
goyanks135: are you saying to make it 1024x1024? im a little confused, i'll try it
After resize:
ok i did what you said but now it says:
Code: Select all
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Halo Custom Edition>tool bitmaps levels\spartan
\bitmaps
Couldn't read map file './toolbeta.map'
### Spartan.tif
bitmap created: #1024x#1024, compressed with color-key transparency, 682K-bytes
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Halo Custom Edition>
now what do i do?
Caboose{SE}
Posts: 1311 Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 12:48 pm
Location: Milf-town
Contact:
Post
by Caboose{SE} » Sun Feb 10, 2008 4:04 pm
look for some tutorials. but i'll get you started here, you need to go into guerrilla and make a shader file (if this is a level you want to make a shader_environment, if its anything other then a map use shader_model) then look for something that says "Base map" and click the three little dots ... and select your bitmap you just made then save the shader file as what ever you named the material in max.
L33T Ev0lu7i0n: poor aids have l33t
L33T Ev0lu7i0n: 100000 aids each year
L33T Ev0lu7i0n: die from l33t
goyanks135
Posts: 205 Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 5:38 pm
Post
by goyanks135 » Sun Feb 10, 2008 5:00 pm
Skull2 wrote: goyanks135: are you saying to make it 1024x1024? im a little confused, i'll try it
After resize:
ok i did what you said but now it says:
Code: Select all
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Halo Custom Edition>tool bitmaps levels\spartan
\bitmaps
Couldn't read map file './toolbeta.map'
### Spartan.tif
bitmap created: #1024x#1024, compressed with color-key transparency, 682K-bytes
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Halo Custom Edition>
now what do i do?
^^^ caboose pretty much said it all, but some more things you (need?) to do.
ok, you created the bitmap. Now you need to open it in guerilla. It should be under halo/tags/levels/(test)/mapname/bitmaps. (the map does not have to be under test in the levels folder). In the second box down it will say format. Click on the down arrow and chose 'compressed with explicit alpha'. Save and close the tag. -not sure if this needs to be done-
Now to create the shader: Then click file>new and scroll down to shader_environment. In the second box again it should say physics properties. Chose which property you want your shader to have. Then you need to go down about halfway where it says 'diffuse properties'. click on the ... on the base map line. Then select the bitmap file you just created and edited. Click save as and save it in your map folder under a sub-folder named 'shaders'. It must have the same name as the bitmap file.
~correct me if I am wrong, thats how I do it and it works; but I am no pro at it.
Skull2
Posts: 42 Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:27 pm
Location: Auburn, Washington
Contact:
Post
by Skull2 » Sun Feb 10, 2008 10:03 pm
ok sweet i have managed to get it working with the knowledge i have aquired through this thread, i thank all of you very much, i will post up dates about my map soon
DEEhunter
Posts: 897 Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 4:04 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:
Post
by DEEhunter » Mon Feb 11, 2008 2:25 pm
Your bitmaps must be in the power of 2. In other words the width and hight MUST be 16,32,64,126,256,512,1024 etc.
Skull2
Posts: 42 Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:27 pm
Location: Auburn, Washington
Contact:
Post
by Skull2 » Mon Feb 11, 2008 6:38 pm
ok i got to where i am extracting the level but there is a problem i dont know how to fix, thats why i came here
Code: Select all
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Halo Custom Edition>tool structure levels\spart
an spartan
Couldn't read map file './toolbeta.map'
building intermediate geometry...
building collision geometry...
reducing collision geometry...
building collision bsp...
reducing collision bsp...
verifying collision geometry...
verifying collision bsp...
### ERROR collision bsp is empty.
did you...
...create any geometry?
...make the frame?
...attach geometry to the frame?
...use collidable (not render only or portal) geometry?
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Halo Custom Edition>
HELP PLEASE
Edit:
maybe can somebody put up a walk through, i attached the frame to the map, but then its giving me some errors
now i need some help!!!
Caboose{SE}
Posts: 1311 Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 12:48 pm
Location: Milf-town
Contact:
Post
by Caboose{SE} » Mon Feb 11, 2008 8:02 pm
first, convert your level to editable mesh then back to editable poly (do this twice). Sometimes there's some weird error somewhere and this for whatever reason fixes it sometimes (usually to do with modifiers). Next just make a box and call it frame. Be sure it's not inside your map, that it's just sitting outside somewhere. Then what you want to do is select your map (just your map and NOT the box) and click the link button, this looks a small square and chain. Should be located on the left side of the top toolbars. When you select that press H. Then in the hierarchy that comes up, select frame from the list and click link. now try to export.
Keep in mind that you do NOT use the "attach" command under editable poly to connect the two. the frame and map need to be two separate meshes.
L33T Ev0lu7i0n: poor aids have l33t
L33T Ev0lu7i0n: 100000 aids each year
L33T Ev0lu7i0n: die from l33t
Skull2
Posts: 42 Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:27 pm
Location: Auburn, Washington
Contact:
Post
by Skull2 » Mon Feb 11, 2008 8:46 pm
ok so im assuming its working just for the reason being its taking a long time, ya thank you guys so much for the help, lol im going to start on a readme and every single one of you guys are going in it
ok new problem:
Code: Select all
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Halo Custom Edition>tool structure levels\spart
an spartan
Couldn't read map file './toolbeta.map'
building intermediate geometry...
building collision geometry...
### ERROR couldn't update edge #342 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #301 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #456 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #396 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #470 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #441 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #475 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #410 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #410 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #474 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #741 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #473 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #422 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #463 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #426 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #452 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #479 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #447 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #478 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1010 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #455 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1007 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1013 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #469 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1011 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #428 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #451 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1021 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1019 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #462 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1027 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1025 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #425 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #404 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #982 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1034 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1032 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #395 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #415 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1039 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #459 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1041 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1045 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #416 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1036 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1007 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1013 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #421 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1064 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1066 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #437 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1021 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1025 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1032 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1039 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1048 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #404 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #399 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1066 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #415 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #413 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #481 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #478 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #462 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #466 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #424 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1092 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1077 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1087 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #419 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #421 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1085 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1090 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #942 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #963 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1090 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #963 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1092 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #450 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1105 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1107 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #983 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1272 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1330 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1708 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1705 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1791 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1794 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #2214 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1807 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1085 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1053 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #2384 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1901 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #2404 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #2457 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #2010 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #2505 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #2543 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #2602 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #2228 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #2260 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #2676 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #2271 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #2348 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #2354 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #3801 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #3810 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #3830 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #3843 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #3920 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #3988 (red).
### ERROR failed to build collision geometry.
### ERROR failed to import collision bsp.
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Halo Custom Edition>
goyanks135
Posts: 205 Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 5:38 pm
Post
by goyanks135 » Tue Feb 12, 2008 2:37 pm
The hek tutorial is good for errors when building your map with tool. It says "caused by faces or surfaces that are duplicated or shared between objects". Basicly you have 2 faces touching eachother that shouldnt be. Im guessing it is a base where you didnt delete the bottom faces like you are supposed to.
Caboose{SE}
Posts: 1311 Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 12:48 pm
Location: Milf-town
Contact:
Post
by Caboose{SE} » Tue Feb 12, 2008 3:30 pm
my god! O_O
you've done something terrible with your mesh O_O. what i'm not exactly sure but it could be duplicated faces or faces that are in the wrong direction. post a wireframe render of your, or pm it to me if you don't want it released yet and i'll see if i can spot what's wrong from there.
L33T Ev0lu7i0n: poor aids have l33t
L33T Ev0lu7i0n: 100000 aids each year
L33T Ev0lu7i0n: die from l33t
Skull2
Posts: 42 Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:27 pm
Location: Auburn, Washington
Contact:
Post
by Skull2 » Tue Feb 12, 2008 7:07 pm
ok getting the pic up, lol i have to get a screen cap tool so i can first
now i have a problem as well after i get to tool, this is in a new version of the map.
Code: Select all
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
C:\Users\--stacee-->cd C:\Program files\microsoft games\halo custom edition\
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Halo Custom Edition>tool
Couldn't read map file './toolbeta.map'
usage: tool verb <options..>
model source-directory
animations source-directory
strings source-directory
unicode-strings source-directory
bitmaps source-directory
bitmap source-file
structure scenario-directory bsp-name
structure-lens-flares bsp-name
structure-breakable-surfaces structure-name
collision-geometry source-directory
physics source-file
sounds directory-name platform<xbox,wav,ogg> ogg_only_value_flag<quality or bi
trate>
sounds_by_type directory-name type <round to 64 samples:yes/no>
build-cache-file <scenario-name>
windows-font
hud-messages <path> <scenario-name>
lightmaps <scenario> <bsp index> <quality> <stop threshhold>
process-sounds <root path> <substring> <gain+|gain-|gain=|maximum-distance|min
imum-distance> <value>
merge-scenery <source scenario> <destination scenario>
zoners_model_upgrade
import-device-defaults <defaults|profiles> <savegame path>
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Halo Custom Edition>tool structure levels\spart
an spartan
Couldn't read map file './toolbeta.map'
building intermediate geometry...
choose a type for the shader 'spatran_ground':
1. shader_environment
2. shader_model
3. shader_transparent_generic
4. shader_transparent_chicago
5. shader_transparent_chicago_extended
6. shader_transparent_water
7. shader_transparent_glass
8. shader_transparent_meter
9. shader_transparent_plasma
choice (1-9): 1
some shaders were not defined
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Halo Custom Edition>tool structure levels\spart
an spartan
Couldn't read map file './toolbeta.map'
building intermediate geometry...
building collision geometry...
### ERROR couldn't update edge #465 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #469 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #445 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #440 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #453 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #457 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #460 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #431 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #907 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #919 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #914 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #948 (red).
### ERROR failed to build collision geometry.
### ERROR failed to import collision bsp.
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Halo Custom Edition>
i only have one base, and thats it i can give a pic, i might know the problem though so im going to go and see real quick.[/img]
DEEhunter
Posts: 897 Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 4:04 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:
Post
by DEEhunter » Tue Feb 12, 2008 7:38 pm
be absolutely SURE that the model is an editable mesh and not an editable poly when you export.
Skull2
Posts: 42 Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:27 pm
Location: Auburn, Washington
Contact:
Post
by Skull2 » Tue Feb 12, 2008 7:44 pm
ok
let me try that, also i changed the bitmap so now its a little darker
Skull2
Posts: 42 Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:27 pm
Location: Auburn, Washington
Contact:
Post
by Skull2 » Tue Feb 12, 2008 7:56 pm
sry for double post, (Deehunter) can you please be more explanitory because i went to my map and converted it from editable poly to mesh and it gave me this
Code: Select all
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Halo Custom Edition>tool structure levels\spart
an spartan
Couldn't read map file './toolbeta.map'
building intermediate geometry...
building collision geometry...
### ERROR couldn't update edge #457 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #450 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #444 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #470 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #494 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #507 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #465 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #463 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #505 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #479 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #346 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #489 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #386 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #499 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #960 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #964 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #953 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #979 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1020 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1016 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1066 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1027 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1034 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1067 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #506 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1032 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1085 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1084 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1043 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1081 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1052 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1055 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1090 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1109 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1093 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1035 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1053 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1094 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1123 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1040 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1097 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1091 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1031 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1044 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1096 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1092 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1056 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1108 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1110 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1115 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #1122 (red).
### ERROR couldn't update edge #449 (red).
### ERROR failed to build collision geometry.
### ERROR failed to import collision bsp.
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Halo Custom Edition>
plz help
Caboose{SE}
Posts: 1311 Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 12:48 pm
Location: Milf-town
Contact:
Post
by Caboose{SE} » Tue Feb 12, 2008 9:09 pm
Skull2 wrote: sry for double post, (Deehunter) can you please be more explanitory because i went to my map and converted it from editable poly to mesh and it gave me this
plz help
Don't listen to him, that's completely wrong. Your bsp does not need to be mesh it can stay poly. I've done this hundreds of times, I know. When I get a chance I'll explain what you need to do more in-depth.
L33T Ev0lu7i0n: poor aids have l33t
L33T Ev0lu7i0n: 100000 aids each year
L33T Ev0lu7i0n: die from l33t
DEEhunter
Posts: 897 Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 4:04 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:
Post
by DEEhunter » Wed Feb 13, 2008 1:20 pm
Does it make a .wrl file in your halo CE directory.
OpsY
Posts: 158 Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 4:17 pm
Post
by OpsY » Wed Feb 13, 2008 1:59 pm
Yes. It makes a .wrl for all ''Structure'' related tool commands called nameofmap.wrl
Import it and uncheck all 3 boxes.
If you get errors in LIGHTMAPS such as Degenerate trangles, import debug.wrl
Uncheck the 3 boxes again