Page 1 of 1

H2Core rebuilding exception

Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 11:27 am
by grimdoomer
Every Time I compile my map i get the exception below as soo as it gets to the the headset_dsp_chorus tag.

Code: Select all

See the end of this message for details on invoking 
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
   at core.Rebuilder.Rebuilder.RebuildButton_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnClick(EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnClick(EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mevent)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ButtonBase.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Button.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.832 (QFE.050727-8300)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
H2Core
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/ryan/Desktop/H2Core%20NEW/H2Core%20NEW/H2Core.exe
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.832 (QFE.050727-8300)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.832 (QFE.050727-8300)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.832 (QFE.050727-8300)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
HaloMap
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/ryan/Desktop/H2Core%20NEW/H2Core%20NEW/HaloMap.DLL
----------------------------------------
SandDock
    Assembly Version: 1.0.6.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.6.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/ryan/Desktop/H2Core%20NEW/H2Core%20NEW/SandDock.DLL
----------------------------------------
SandBar
    Assembly Version: 1.1.1.0
    Win32 Version: 1.1.1.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/ryan/Desktop/H2Core%20NEW/H2Core%20NEW/SandBar.DLL
----------------------------------------
System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.832 (QFE.050727-8300)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.


How do I fix this and yes i do have .net framework 2.0 installed.

Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 3:36 pm
by OwnZ joO
It's trying to do something on something that's not referenced. I don't know what it is, but you didn't give a very good description of what you were doing before you got the error. Maybe somethings not referenced right in one your scenario or one of its dependencies.

Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 4:21 pm
by grimdoomer
i was adding AI

Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 6:52 pm
by CaptainPoopface
I don't compile maps or add AI, but I can tell you that particular tag isn't worth a bucket of warm spit.

DSP refers to digital signal processing, or ways that audio data is digitally manipulated so that it sounds different. Chorus is an effect in which the same sound is overlaid on itself but shifted by ~10-40 milliseconds, creating a comb filter and ultimately making the sound more "swirly," for lack of a better word. It's a cheap way of making a tinny sound a little fuller.

So that particular tag refers to an effect that makes someone's voice sound a little fuller over that $0.87 microphone or the $0.50 speakers in the headset. See if you can null it or bypass it somehow, then see if the program hangs on something else. I'm guessing it will, but if it's just the headset_dsp stuff that is hanging you up, you can skip it all.

Also, I'm not certain, but I think people hardly ever debug stack traces like that one. It looks too vague to give a precise enough idea of where or why the error occurred.

HTH

Posted: Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:53 am
by grimdoomer
well i decompiled a clean map the rebuilt with no mods and it worked i copyed the headset_dsp_corus tag then did my moddifications and pasted it in befor i rebuilt and samething. And H2 Core is the only way to do AI Zones and my other comp takes 3 hours to recompile this one only takes 5 minutes.

Posted: Sun Oct 21, 2007 8:19 am
by L0d3x
Erm so did all your previous versions of your map compile?

Posted: Sun Oct 21, 2007 11:40 am
by grimdoomer
well no this is the first one ive done with moddifications on this computer but i have edited a lot of stuff in entity and it worked fine so it cant be framework. But if i decompile then recompile with no editing then it works fine its only when i moddify the scenario.

Posted: Sun Oct 21, 2007 9:47 pm
by OwnZ joO
grimdoomer wrote:well no this is the first one ive done with moddifications on this computer but i have edited a lot of stuff in entity and it worked fine so it cant be framework. But if i decompile then recompile with no editing then it works fine its only when i moddify the scenario.
When it says Object reference not set to an instance of an object, that means that it's pointing to something thats not there. It could be a lot of things, maybe you had your scenario or one of the other metas reference another meta, and then that got deleted, so it's pointing to something that's not there.

Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 10:12 am
by grimdoomer
well as soon as it gets to the global_speaker chorus.effects tag i get the exception but i checked the names of the tag and it matches perfectly. What i do get is that if i dont make any modifications to any of the decompiled tags it compiles fine, but if i mofify them i get that exception