Page 1 of 1

Sprite bitmaps

Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:32 pm
by akmassassin
Hello all
Anyone ever succesfuly created a sprite bitmap file? Im trying to find out.. I created my sprites (i got 15) and putted them in a directory and called them fire1.tif, fire2.tif, fire3.tif, fire4.tif... etc. then i type in tool:

tool bitmaps weapons\my weapon\bitmaps\test fire

(fire is the name of my bitmap, fire.bitmap)
then it says:

usage: tool verb <options..>
bitmaps source-directory

should i use "bitmaps source-directory" or "bitmap source-file"??
I also added 4pix border around my sprites..
Any can help? thx

EDIT: just found my error I typed wrong "tool bitmaps" bitmaps dosent take a S when you only want to compile 1 texture. but now it says it dosent find any tifs but if i change one tif to fire.tif it works but only exports that one, how do i export many textures?

Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:36 pm
by Patrickssj6
Thats not how you do it.It is one bitmap.But TheGhost made a good tutorial on how to make them:
http://www.haloimpulse.com/cptlag/thegh ... orial.html

Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:39 pm
by akmassassin
ok thx pat... theghost is god!

Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 4:09 pm
by Patrickssj6
Let me say just that he has good connections... :wink:

Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 4:11 pm
by akmassassin
Well, his tut didint help me alot but for anyone who wanna know how to make a bitmap with multiple sprites thats how it should be:
Image
so here my texture is divided by 4x4pix borders and BLUE(255.0.0) to make 49 sprites
And in my .bitmap has these settings:

type: sprites
format: 32bit color
sprite budget size: 256x256 (thats the size of the complete bitmap, because when you compile it regroups the sprites in that size)
sprite budget count: 49 (your number of sprites in your texture)

Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 5:45 pm
by Patrickssj6

Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 6:03 pm
by akmassassin
lol you have good sources man!

Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 6:22 pm
by Patrickssj6
like TheGhost... :D