Page 1 of 1

visual basic tips and links

Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 3:28 pm
by Thebirthdayhat
for this im not gonna really teach u how to write a specific program but jsut sum basic code info and stuff

k first off ill jsut give u sum tips

- you can make aq text box invisible in the propertys window and use to for buttons, such as if you are making the internet xplorer thing like in yomamas tuts and want to make a favs list u can just make a textbox saying www.halomods.com (or watever site u want it to be) name it txtwebsite go in propertys window and change visible to false now just make a cmd button and in the coding type

Webbrowser1.navigate = txtwebsite

(assuming txtbox name is txtwebsite and webbrowser name is webbrowser1.)

2. if u are working with many textboxes in the coding u can abrieviate it to letters for example say u had txt1 txt2 and txt3 and wanted to make it so in the rest of the command and in furmulas and stuff u wanted them to be known as a b and c simply put in the cmd button using thems code




Code: Select all

a = txt1
b = txt2
c = txt3 [quote][/quote]
now u can use these in formuals and make the answer end up in a textbox bamed Text1 and u can adapt this to a lot of defferent things

Code: Select all

a * b * c = Text1.Text 


just so u understand that the * means multiply. also - is minus, + is to add and i think / is divide


3. if u want to make a button open up a new form you have to have the form in the same project named frmmessage1 frmmessage frmmessage 2 and so on. lets just say the name is frmmessage you would put in the cmd buttons code

Code: Select all

frmmessage.Visible = True
i learned that bit from yomama ^


4. another useful tool is the OLE. jsut drag it onto the screen and automatically a wizard type thing will appear its to easy to explain how it works but wat it does is open a program from sumwhere on your comp.

i g2 eat now ill finish lata, if u want more help go to www.tutorialized.com

hmm....

Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2004 3:33 pm
by ChEmIcAl-PaRtY
didnt work for me, i prolly messed somethin up, ill post up if i get it workin

Re: hmm....

Posted: Sun Jan 09, 2005 2:43 am
by Oosty
i reccomend putting the following code in up the top, if you have multi textboxes

Code: Select all

Option Explicit
Dim a as string
Dim b as string
Dim c as string
ect...
That is at the very top of the code box