UHMM - 3/28 GruntMaps.com is up
-
- Posts: 361
- Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 5:13 pm
- Location: Somewhere Out There
![]() |
- FleetAdmiralBacon
- Posts: 2377
- Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 7:01 pm
- Location: Ohio
- Contact:
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Thanks to whoever unlocked this.
Here are the updates so far:
Here are the updates so far:
Me @ halomods.com/forums wrote:Ok, so maybe you've heard of the UHMM.
Well, if you almost died because you didn't have it and then had a heart attack when I said I wouldn't finish it, you're going to have just as big of a heart attack when I say this:
My 3dsm's license stuff fuxed
which means that I don't have a good 3d modeler.
It's pissing me off, cause I had a good legit license and now it won't work (even with the other option...)
So, with a full plate but no fork, i'll be making my own chop sticks.
If you understand the anolgy, I'm talking about Draco being a full plate and 3ds max being a fork. What does that leave the chop sticks to be? A 3d modeler. And what better than the UHMM?
So, I am offically anouncing that I will be continuing the UHMM, but my primary concern is making a 3d modeler that can export JMS and JMA.
So, expect something almost as good as GMax in the modeling sense, but way better in the map making sense.
Here's a list of what I expect to have and how hard I think it will be:
+Vertex select HOLY MOTHER FRICKER
+Vertex movement OUCHY without above, EASY with.
+Extrudes EASY (with above)
+Boolean HOLY MOTHER FRICKER
+Lines EASY (with 3d selection, which is probably the hardest part)
+Standard objects EASY (I can export from GMax, if it runs...)
+Terrain Maker SUPER-EASY (I already have one, just need to make it sealed...)
+Terrain Drawer SO-SO (I still need I good additive/subtractive g-s drawing tool, hint hint)
+Soft Selection SO-SO (This should be simple, as long as I can select to begin with)
+Animations EASY (but, It would only be for moving objects, which does fit perfectly with the non-biped restrictions of a JMA)
And of course, it wouldn't be the UHMM without the
CATALOG
+Plenty of buildings
----Covenant
----Human
----Forerunner
+Lot's of textures
+Hallways
----Premade blocks of Human, Covenant and Forerunner
And, last but not least, I expect to be finished:
5-6 MONTHS
So, anyone who can help, please do. I'm off to open the VBA project file and see how old it is...
and last, but most definetely not least:more of me wrote:Of course you still need to model in other programs, right now that is.
I'm still working on the modeler, but when it's done, all you will need is the HEK and this. It will even have a texturer editor if I get / make a good enough drawing tool.
Update:
I was just wondering to myself "why can't I see my exported MC?"
So I exported the GBXModel to a .3ds, imported it into gmax and found that the mc was like 2000 some units away from the origin. This makes perfect sense, though, the coordinates that the UHMM exports are not relative to the center point of the object (not yet, but they will be based on a central point as soon as I add it.. )
Also, my z coordinate and something else are switched, they will be flipped as soon as I find out exactly what should be where.
And, last but not least, the UV coordinates were rotated and flipped (really frakked up) but I was able to fix them by only slight maniplution (this will be fixed in the final as well, otherwise, what's the point?)
What I really need help with is opening raw maps, possibly for editing and I also need to be able to open GBX and BSP tags so that they don't have to already exist if you use the Sapien-like function of the UHMM
Oh, and the pic:
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a77/gr ... ahuhmm.jpg
That is after I moved the model and the UV coordinates, as you can see, it still needs to be fixed up a bit (the model is rotated weird because that is how it is in the UHMM, if I exported everything from the UHMM, compiled it all as tags and then exported them to .3ds files, the entire scene would appear and the mc would be standing next to a warthog.
On another note, I couldn't compile the JMS of my banshee - no idea why, I'll find out later.
I'll be uploading the new version in a minute. Once again, thank you whoever unlocked the topic!I wrote:Well, this is too important to edit in or wait for someone else to post:
I finally got my terrain editor working. The one with the draw tool.
It comes with 2 brushes, pit and hill. It works like an air brush - RGB(127,0,0) being neutral. Heightmaps will now be red and black.
Also, as soon as you lift the mouse button, the results of your modifications will be visible. Not entirely real-time, but it would be way to slow if it were...
*uploads a sample pic*
I will upload a new update soon, somewhere...
now I just need to get JMS export to work again, none of my JMS files compile XD

Everything you'll ever need to know about me.
Need help with Linux, C#, C, Python, Java, PHP, Javascript, CSS, or VB? I'm available from 3:00PM-8:00PM EST on weekdays.
- FleetAdmiralBacon
- Posts: 2377
- Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 7:01 pm
- Location: Ohio
- Contact:
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Indeed.
Oh, and new version:
http://files.halomods.com/download.php?id=47622
WITH INSTALLER!
So you don't need to fuss with the DLLs and OCXs!
EDIT:
Here's the 3ds max / gmax exporter code, save it as "uhmmout.ms" or something like that.
Oh, and new version:
http://files.halomods.com/download.php?id=47622
WITH INSTALLER!
So you don't need to fuss with the DLLs and OCXs!
EDIT:
Here's the 3ds max / gmax exporter code, save it as "uhmmout.ms" or something like that.
Code: Select all
rollout UHMMExport "UHMM Exporter For 3ds max and Gmax" width:142 height:92
(
local object,
numTriangles,
f, i, a, b, c, d, e, g = 1, h, j, k, mater
pickbutton pick_object "none" pos:[9,8] width:118 height:21
button expcoorbut "Export Coor." pos:[8,32] width:120 height:17
button btn3 "Close" pos:[9,52] width:119 height:16
button btn4 "Reset Textures" pos:[11,71] width:117 height:16
on pick_object picked obj do
(
object = obj; pick_object.text = object.name
ConvertToMesh object
)
on expcoorbut pressed do
(
For f in 1 to object.numfaces do
(
i = getface object f
a = getvert object i.x
b = getvert object i.y
c = getvert object i.z
h = gettvert object i[1]
j = gettvert object i[2]
k = gettvert object i[3]
g = GetFaceMatId object f
e = "t," + a.x as string + "," + a.y as string + "," + a.z as string + "," + b.x as string + "," + b.y as string + "," + b.z as string + "," + c.x as string + "," + c.y as string + "," + c.z as string + "," + h.x as string + "," + h.y as string + "," + j.x as string + "," + j.y as string + "," + k.x as string + "," + k.y as string + "," + g as string
format e
format "\n"
)
format "p,0,0,0\n"
if ClassOf object.material == MultiMaterial then
(
f = 1
for f in 1 to object.material.count do
(
mater = "m," + "\"" + object.material[f].name + "\""
format mater
format "\n"
)
)
format "o, Exported with UHMM Exporter By Fleet Admiral Bacon"
g = g + 1
)
on btn3 pressed do
removeRollout UHMMExport
on btn4 pressed do
g = 1
)
Addrollout UHMMExport

Everything you'll ever need to know about me.
Need help with Linux, C#, C, Python, Java, PHP, Javascript, CSS, or VB? I'm available from 3:00PM-8:00PM EST on weekdays.
everytime i make a terrain it shows this error, Run-time error '76':
path not found: 'C:\program files\UHMMprototype\'
oh when i click "ok" or "exit button" to the pop up, the whole tool exits. can someone help me?
path not found: 'C:\program files\UHMMprototype\'
oh when i click "ok" or "exit button" to the pop up, the whole tool exits. can someone help me?
Last edited by halo2poo on Wed Mar 08, 2006 4:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- FleetAdmiralBacon
- Posts: 2377
- Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 7:01 pm
- Location: Ohio
- Contact:
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Save a project first.
Preferably, open the default.uhmm project in the UHMM folder.

EDIT:
I will fix that as soon as I can, it happens because the way it gets the heightmap location (it autosaves when you lift the mouse) is through opening or saving of a project. Ill fix it soon.
Preferably, open the default.uhmm project in the UHMM folder.

EDIT:
I will fix that as soon as I can, it happens because the way it gets the heightmap location (it autosaves when you lift the mouse) is through opening or saving of a project. Ill fix it soon.

Everything you'll ever need to know about me.
Need help with Linux, C#, C, Python, Java, PHP, Javascript, CSS, or VB? I'm available from 3:00PM-8:00PM EST on weekdays.
- FleetAdmiralBacon
- Posts: 2377
- Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 7:01 pm
- Location: Ohio
- Contact:
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Woah... Hold on there, this isn't even close to JMS exporting, don't get yourself too worked up about it.
I still need to add a water feature, but it's simple, in fact, the engine includes a water function, I just need to add it to the interface.
I still need to add a water feature, but it's simple, in fact, the engine includes a water function, I just need to add it to the interface.

Everything you'll ever need to know about me.
Need help with Linux, C#, C, Python, Java, PHP, Javascript, CSS, or VB? I'm available from 3:00PM-8:00PM EST on weekdays.
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 2:11 pm
- Contact:
Bacon can you make a few more models and just upload a ppf full of models because it is getting boring with just the pelican warthog banshee and mc
Models to get:
Marine
Scorpian
Some Buildings
And can you get mc sitting and marines sitting and have them with assault rifles so i can do a render of them in the peli
THanks
Models to get:
Marine
Scorpian
Some Buildings
And can you get mc sitting and marines sitting and have them with assault rifles so i can do a render of them in the peli
THanks
- FleetAdmiralBacon
- Posts: 2377
- Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 7:01 pm
- Location: Ohio
- Contact:
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
You kind of have to have something selected before you can deselect...{HPC}Larry wrote:everytime I hit the deselect button it says Runtime error '9' Object out of range.
Sorry, my DLLs are only in English.OpsY wrote:This sounds very awesome.. i've tryed downloading from your first post tho and it wouldnt work. i got alot of RTE and the kind of map preview was flipped over(when installing it said requiered DLL is in different language than the one i try to install, myXP is in french.
I'm working on fixing JMS export right now, but I've added the Longsword (which I'm using in my JMS export tests) and I'm awaiting some BSP parts (specifically forerunner) from BEEF!!!jarocks wrote:Bacon can you make a few more models and just upload a ppf full of models because it is getting boring with just the pelican warthog banshee and mc
Remember that the vehicles and MC are only placeholders (or will be) for when I get to tag editing (specifically "sapein")

Everything you'll ever need to know about me.
Need help with Linux, C#, C, Python, Java, PHP, Javascript, CSS, or VB? I'm available from 3:00PM-8:00PM EST on weekdays.
- FleetAdmiralBacon
- Posts: 2377
- Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 7:01 pm
- Location: Ohio
- Contact:
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
I'll upload it tomorrow, with the new stuff, plus the updates to the code itself (stuff like "save" and "save as" in the menu, initial directory on the project opener set to app.path, default project, project name moved to left of "UHMM" in title bar)

Everything you'll ever need to know about me.
Need help with Linux, C#, C, Python, Java, PHP, Javascript, CSS, or VB? I'm available from 3:00PM-8:00PM EST on weekdays.
- FleetAdmiralBacon
- Posts: 2377
- Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 7:01 pm
- Location: Ohio
- Contact:
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Here it is:
Download Newest Version
Download Newest Version

Everything you'll ever need to know about me.
Need help with Linux, C#, C, Python, Java, PHP, Javascript, CSS, or VB? I'm available from 3:00PM-8:00PM EST on weekdays.
- FleetAdmiralBacon
- Posts: 2377
- Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 7:01 pm
- Location: Ohio
- Contact:
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Ouch.
The program or the installer? It's looking for a file that for some reason won't open, most likely... Lemme check the code, it might have something to do with automatically opening the default.uhmm project...
hmm.. no, not that... but I do have 1 thing I need to edit so that I can exchange project files...
If you have vb 6, please try and run it through there so I can see where it happens.
EDIT:
Due to the repeated requests by so many people, here is a terrain builder that is almost fully standalone (you need to have had the DLLs and OCXs from the UHMM installed to use this)
Now I wonder if I could open this with vb.net and possibly compile it for Windows Mobile 2003 SE...
The program or the installer? It's looking for a file that for some reason won't open, most likely... Lemme check the code, it might have something to do with automatically opening the default.uhmm project...
hmm.. no, not that... but I do have 1 thing I need to edit so that I can exchange project files...
If you have vb 6, please try and run it through there so I can see where it happens.
EDIT:
Due to the repeated requests by so many people, here is a terrain builder that is almost fully standalone (you need to have had the DLLs and OCXs from the UHMM installed to use this)
Now I wonder if I could open this with vb.net and possibly compile it for Windows Mobile 2003 SE...
- Attachments
-
- TerrainBuilder.rar
- TerrainBuilder SA
- (12.33 KiB) Downloaded 32 times

Everything you'll ever need to know about me.
Need help with Linux, C#, C, Python, Java, PHP, Javascript, CSS, or VB? I'm available from 3:00PM-8:00PM EST on weekdays.