UHMM - 3/28 GruntMaps.com is up
- FleetAdmiralBacon
- Posts: 2377
- Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 7:01 pm
- Location: Ohio
- Contact:
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Things tend to be very organized when you follow tuturials and add stuff in the right place (tuturial was for initializing a D3D window, the rest is simple stuff based on coordinates)
If you're interested in modifying the source, the camdir coordinates are for Vertex.x * camdir.x etc. will rotate the vertext to face the same direction as the camera. The inporting is simple and is mostly just triangle lists. If you're wondering why there are some strange things in the folders, the engine was first used in a game, then in another game, and now finally in UHMM. Im actually removing the stuff from the program now so i can delete it from the folder.
If you're interested in modifying the source, the camdir coordinates are for Vertex.x * camdir.x etc. will rotate the vertext to face the same direction as the camera. The inporting is simple and is mostly just triangle lists. If you're wondering why there are some strange things in the folders, the engine was first used in a game, then in another game, and now finally in UHMM. Im actually removing the stuff from the program now so i can delete it from the folder.

Everything you'll ever need to know about me.
Need help with Linux, C#, C, Python, Java, PHP, Javascript, CSS, or VB? I'm available from 3:00PM-8:00PM EST on weekdays.
- FleetAdmiralBacon
- Posts: 2377
- Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 7:01 pm
- Location: Ohio
- Contact:
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
It cant make maps yet. Im letting people test the actual 3d interface and tell me what they want, then I add it. Im working on adding the key noob-proof map-builder: The TerrainBuilder. How will you use it? Simple.
Tuturial
You will have 3 windows: a 3d window, which shows your map in 3d, a top-down greyscale version of your map, where white (or was it black..) is the hightest, and third: a window with tools (mountain /\, valley \/, etc)
Your map starts out 50% grey (smack-dab in the middle of black and white) and you select a tool. We'll use mountains for this example.
Now you can select a size, the size is selected from the tool window.
We'll say, maybe... <-20ft->. Now you can move your mouse over the greyscale window and a circle appears that is the equivelent of 20ft in diameter on the map. By clicking, the area is lightened, representing higher land. The 3d view would update showing you what the new land looks like, along with a mastercheif model so you can determine size.
You can continue to use the tools, holding the curser down to make the land even higher/lower. This would eventually make a nice map.
Now we would move on to exporting the jms and tooling. Wait.. Did i just say that? I meant clicking the "Make tags" button! After doing this, you will see a "Select export location". You will already be directed to "[halo ce]\data\levels\" Type the name you wish to use for your map and press "Save". UHMM will make the folder and subfolders and place the exported jms file to the correct folder. When UHMM is done, you will see a black CMD window appear, run tool, and close. Why? Because UHMM will automatically run tool.
You are now ready to begin the tagging process, which I will explain in another post once I'm done with adding the TerrainBuilder so that you can do all of what I posted here.
Tuturial
You will have 3 windows: a 3d window, which shows your map in 3d, a top-down greyscale version of your map, where white (or was it black..) is the hightest, and third: a window with tools (mountain /\, valley \/, etc)
Your map starts out 50% grey (smack-dab in the middle of black and white) and you select a tool. We'll use mountains for this example.
Now you can select a size, the size is selected from the tool window.
We'll say, maybe... <-20ft->. Now you can move your mouse over the greyscale window and a circle appears that is the equivelent of 20ft in diameter on the map. By clicking, the area is lightened, representing higher land. The 3d view would update showing you what the new land looks like, along with a mastercheif model so you can determine size.
You can continue to use the tools, holding the curser down to make the land even higher/lower. This would eventually make a nice map.
Now we would move on to exporting the jms and tooling. Wait.. Did i just say that? I meant clicking the "Make tags" button! After doing this, you will see a "Select export location". You will already be directed to "[halo ce]\data\levels\" Type the name you wish to use for your map and press "Save". UHMM will make the folder and subfolders and place the exported jms file to the correct folder. When UHMM is done, you will see a black CMD window appear, run tool, and close. Why? Because UHMM will automatically run tool.
You are now ready to begin the tagging process, which I will explain in another post once I'm done with adding the TerrainBuilder so that you can do all of what I posted here.

Everything you'll ever need to know about me.
Need help with Linux, C#, C, Python, Java, PHP, Javascript, CSS, or VB? I'm available from 3:00PM-8:00PM EST on weekdays.
how do u open the program and where do u put all of those ugly things after u open the folder? when i click on the program it says "component 'comdlg32.ocx' or one of its dependencies not correctly registered: a file is missing or invalid" thats wat it says everytime i click the the program in the folder. can anyone help me?
- FleetAdmiralBacon
- Posts: 2377
- Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 7:01 pm
- Location: Ohio
- Contact:
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
hopefully, you already have those where they belong. You should if you already have directx 8 (yes, 8. This does not work if the only version your computer has ever had was 9 or 7)
If not:
There are two folders.
OCX and DLL I believe.
Take the files and put them in your system32 folder.
If not:
There are two folders.
OCX and DLL I believe.
Take the files and put them in your system32 folder.

Everything you'll ever need to know about me.
Need help with Linux, C#, C, Python, Java, PHP, Javascript, CSS, or VB? I'm available from 3:00PM-8:00PM EST on weekdays.
Sounds like this is gonna be really cool, i was wondering when someone was gonna make something like this, hmmm maybe next someone will make a character, vehicles abd scenery modeling program, prehaps with some premade parts that that the user can either build off or put them together to make a basic vehicle, scenery or biped i dont know just one of the crazy ideas that will most likely never happen.

- FleetAdmiralBacon
- Posts: 2377
- Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 7:01 pm
- Location: Ohio
- Contact:
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Hmm... Sounds exactly like the UHMM only for scenery, etc.
I could do this.
In fact, it could just be part of the UHMM.
When you start the UHMM, itll asK:
What do you want to make?
[]Map
L[]With Terrain Builder
L[]With Easy3D modeler
L[]With Skematisizer (makes hallway-based maps like inside of the poa)
[]Scenery
[]Vehicle
[]Weapon
[]Open an existing UHMM project.
I could do this.
In fact, it could just be part of the UHMM.
When you start the UHMM, itll asK:
What do you want to make?
[]Map
L[]With Terrain Builder
L[]With Easy3D modeler
L[]With Skematisizer (makes hallway-based maps like inside of the poa)
[]Scenery
[]Vehicle
[]Weapon
[]Open an existing UHMM project.

Everything you'll ever need to know about me.
Need help with Linux, C#, C, Python, Java, PHP, Javascript, CSS, or VB? I'm available from 3:00PM-8:00PM EST on weekdays.
- FleetAdmiralBacon
- Posts: 2377
- Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 7:01 pm
- Location: Ohio
- Contact:
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
It shouldnt be too hard, but lets worry about making a modeler before we move onto the catalog of stuff (which will be in a .e3d format, which is the UHMM's native format, and include everything that was in halo 1, only in nice neat blocks [ei, the hallways in trepidation])

Everything you'll ever need to know about me.
Need help with Linux, C#, C, Python, Java, PHP, Javascript, CSS, or VB? I'm available from 3:00PM-8:00PM EST on weekdays.
- FleetAdmiralBacon
- Posts: 2377
- Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 7:01 pm
- Location: Ohio
- Contact:
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
so thats what's under that helmet...
I always thought it was osama bin laden!

hey, while looking for bin laden, i found my "Bacon Says" avitar:

lol
Well, ill see what i can do. Bin Laden head... Hmm...
Oh well, i have a terrain builder to make!
I always thought it was osama bin laden!

hey, while looking for bin laden, i found my "Bacon Says" avitar:

lol
Well, ill see what i can do. Bin Laden head... Hmm...
Oh well, i have a terrain builder to make!

Everything you'll ever need to know about me.
Need help with Linux, C#, C, Python, Java, PHP, Javascript, CSS, or VB? I'm available from 3:00PM-8:00PM EST on weekdays.
- FleetAdmiralBacon
- Posts: 2377
- Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 7:01 pm
- Location: Ohio
- Contact:
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |

Yes, except promethius is shrowded in myth. No one knows when it is coming out, they keep "progressing" with these new screen shots, but no one knows what it really can do as of now.
UHMM will be for noobs, when im pretty sure that Prometheus will be for proffesional mappers, and isnt it more of a map editor? Im pretty sure prometheus doesnt have a modeler (which as soon as i can select objects by clikcing on them [which will take comparing the cursor location to the zoom level and camera location to get a possible line of points and seeing if an object is between the camera and a point on that line, then making sure its the closest object on the line, then using my select scriptto select it, turning it red] and then movement [wich will. no, i wont explain that..])
The terrain editor will be done as soon as I start it, cause it already is done, just need to remove the code that makes it scroll (it infinitely repeats, showing only a certain amount) and then adding other pieces (I will use either sticking a building block onto flat terrain or try and do welding, but this is gonna be hired, so Im leaning towards flat terrain)

Everything you'll ever need to know about me.
Need help with Linux, C#, C, Python, Java, PHP, Javascript, CSS, or VB? I'm available from 3:00PM-8:00PM EST on weekdays.
-
- Posts: 44
- Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 12:06 am
- FleetAdmiralBacon
- Posts: 2377
- Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 7:01 pm
- Location: Ohio
- Contact:
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Or I could get the sapien source, or 3ds max source, or something.
No.
Im gonna find out myself, this is purely my work and the only thing ive looked at for reference besides the direct3d tuturial on MSDN was chimp to find out how it got the texture coordinates and how it printed stuff to the listener without ""'s. Now i have a perfected exporter which I still need to upload.
No.
Im gonna find out myself, this is purely my work and the only thing ive looked at for reference besides the direct3d tuturial on MSDN was chimp to find out how it got the texture coordinates and how it printed stuff to the listener without ""'s. Now i have a perfected exporter which I still need to upload.

Everything you'll ever need to know about me.
Need help with Linux, C#, C, Python, Java, PHP, Javascript, CSS, or VB? I'm available from 3:00PM-8:00PM EST on weekdays.
-
- Posts: 1248
- Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 1:27 pm
- Location: Walking through a dark forest...
- Contact:
-
- Posts: 119
- Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 7:34 am
Would it be possible to put a texture on the top-down image, kind of like a blueprint for your map? And have it so that is shows up in the 3d window too? I can plan out good maps top-down, but I'm not good at making those in 3d without a blueprint..... I think that would be really kickass if you added that feature.
[QUOTE=Yomama]I'm an Admin at Halomods and I don't like it over there.[/QUOTE]
- FleetAdmiralBacon
- Posts: 2377
- Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 7:01 pm
- Location: Ohio
- Contact:
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
No... It would cover up the greyscale image!
But By looking at the map (you can select a texture for it), you can see what it will look like.
Im working on object selection within the window now, so i wont start with the terrainbuilder yet.
UPDATE: TerrainBuilder
\\ BODY \\
Added the prototype terrain builder
Incomplete:
No 3d creation yet
Brushes dont work right
->they draw right over anything else
->need help with this (im using a picturebox in VB6)
Complete:
Load and save pictures
draw with crude brush system
But By looking at the map (you can select a texture for it), you can see what it will look like.
Im working on object selection within the window now, so i wont start with the terrainbuilder yet.
UPDATE: TerrainBuilder
\\ BODY \\
Added the prototype terrain builder
Incomplete:
No 3d creation yet
Brushes dont work right
->they draw right over anything else
->need help with this (im using a picturebox in VB6)
Complete:
Load and save pictures
draw with crude brush system

Everything you'll ever need to know about me.
Need help with Linux, C#, C, Python, Java, PHP, Javascript, CSS, or VB? I'm available from 3:00PM-8:00PM EST on weekdays.