Page 31 of 34

Posted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 1:03 pm
by LuxuriousMeat
DEEhunter wrote:
LuxuriousMeat wrote:

Code: Select all

public enum ImageKey : short
    {
        AButton              = 0x8480,
        BButton              = 0x8481,
        XButton              = 0x8482,
        YButton              = 0x8483,
        LeftShoulderButton   = 0x8484,
        RightShoulderButton  = 0x8485,
        LeftTrigger          = 0x8486,
        RightTrigger         = 0x8487,
        DPadUp               = 0x8488,
        DPadDown             = 0x8489,
        DpadLeft             = 0x848A,
        DPadRight            = 0x848B,
        StartButton          = 0x848C,
        BackButton           = 0x848D,
        LeftThumbStickStick  = 0x848E,
        RightThumbStickStick = 0x848F
    }
That shoudl actually inherit from ushort, not short.

Posted: Sat Jul 26, 2008 10:47 am
by -DeToX-
Anyone know where the Map_ID is calculated/grabbed from?

I tried building .info files, so I added an existing map(deadlock.map) and it wont work if I change the map ID in the .info, it must remain the same, so until I know where map_ID is retrieved from, I can't build any new map slots for new maps.

Posted: Sat Jul 26, 2008 10:54 am
by grimdoomer
Maby it's in the scenario?

Posted: Sat Jul 26, 2008 11:31 am
by -DeToX-
I don't think so... I made a quick check there and didn't see it... It's possible I overlooked it, but I don't think so.

Posted: Sun Jul 27, 2008 2:01 am
by kornman00
If you change the id used in the mapinfo files, you have to update the id stored in the map's tag data with the same value. So you won't be doing this anytime soon since you can't resign the maps on retail machines.

Also, any maps you place in the maps directory, along with their associated blf files will be automatically loaded by the game.

Posted: Sun Jul 27, 2008 8:13 am
by -DeToX-
kornman00 wrote:If you change the id used in the mapinfo files, you have to update the id stored in the map's tag data with the same value. So you won't be doing this anytime soon since you can't resign the maps on retail machines.

Also, any maps you place in the maps directory, along with their associated blf files will be automatically loaded by the game.
Yep. I posted this before I talked to you on AIM hehe, so its all good now. Thanks for your help. ;p

Posted: Sat Aug 02, 2008 1:21 pm
by Choking Victim
Still no news on string id's? I know that in the beta you had to add 1173 to the string id value if it was greater than or equal to 1000. But I think that was just a quick fix that didn't always work. I hope that bit of info helps at least :\ .

Posted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 8:55 pm
by DEEhunter

Code: Select all

0x00 = Battle Rifle
0x01 = Assault Rifle
0x02 = Plasma Pistol
0x03 = Spiker
0x04 = SMG
0x05 = Unknown
0x06 = Energy Sword
0x07 = Magnum
0x08 = Needler
0x09 = Plasma Rifle
0xA = Rocket Launcher
0xB = Shotgun
0xC = Sniper Rifle
0xD = Brute Shot
0xE = Depleted Sword
0xF = Beam Rifle
0x10 = Spartan Laser
0x11 = None
0x12 = Gravity Hammer
0x13 = Mauler
0x14 = Flame Thrower
0x15 = Missile Pod
0xFF = Random
Weapon Enum. Completed by me.

Posted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 12:54 pm
by Shock120
Is there anyone doing any research on the Halo 3's net code or AI?
Is there anyone planning on trying to make everything sync? from the previous games. like AI, scripts, dialogue/voices etc.

Is there anything that can be learned from Halo 3? which can be added to Halo 1 PC/CE or Halo 2 V.

Posted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 12:56 pm
by grimdoomer
Shock120 wrote:Is there anyone doing any research on the Halo 3's net code or AI?
Is there anyone planning on trying to make everything sync? from the previous games. like AI etc.

Is there anything that can be learned from Halo 3? which can be added to
Halo 1 PC/CE or Halo 2 V.
You can't take a game and just make things sync. You need the source code. Also since only a select few can actually run unsigned maps, there isnt to much research being conducted.

Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 4:14 pm
by TheGeneral
Hey guys, I was trying to figure out how to decompress Halo 3's asset data and I'm almost 100% sure its compressed with lzma.

If you look at the start of the compressed data blocks in the map file they all start with a 5 byte sequence similar to this.

Image

I'm pretty sure those are the decoder properties for decoding but I cant test with knowing the uncompressed size of the data, which I assume would be located somewhere in else in the map. Another clue that tipped me of is that there were a lot of references to zlib when I searched through the strings of a decompiled xex.

If anyone else has any information that would be great!

Posted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 1:10 pm
by -DeToX-
I was specifically told that zlib instance isn't actually used with raw.

Posted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 1:13 pm
by Eaton
Just a guess, but do you think it would use the same compression used for Halo 1 Xbox maps?

Posted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 1:36 pm
by Choking Victim
Eaton wrote:Just a guess, but do you think it would use the same compression used for Halo 1 Xbox maps?
Halo 1 xbox maps use zlib...so no.

Posted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 2:35 pm
by TheGeneral
I read zlib uses a compression method called deflate, I always thought zlib used lzma. So if its not zlib it could still be lzma.

Re: Halo 3 Retail Game Research

Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 10:30 am
by shade45
After trying to edit some Unicode strings and having the map fail to load I found out that the unicode index and tables are hashed with SHA-1 and the hash is strored in the matg with the other Unicode information :)

Here's the updated struct.

Code: Select all

    struct Locale
    {
        int Count;
        int Size;
        int TableIndexOffset; // Address
        int TableOffset;      // Address
        byte[] IndexHash;    // Len20
        byte[] TableHash;    // Len20
        byte[] Unused;    // Len12
    }

Re: Halo 3 Retail Game Research

Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 10:45 am
by grimdoomer
Nice Find!

Re: Halo 3 Retail Game Research

Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 7:53 pm
by SPARTAN-OMEGA
Very nice find.

Re: Halo 3 Retail Game Research

Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 11:13 pm
by -DeToX-
shade45 wrote:After trying to edit some Unicode strings and having the map fail to load I found out that the unicode index and tables are hashed with SHA-1 and the hash is strored in the matg with the other Unicode information :)
Wasn't that posted here already..? Swear it was.

Re: Halo 3 Retail Game Research

Posted: Sun Feb 01, 2009 8:34 am
by shade45
-DeToX- wrote:
shade45 wrote:After trying to edit some Unicode strings and having the map fail to load I found out that the unicode index and tables are hashed with SHA-1 and the hash is strored in the matg with the other Unicode information :)
Wasn't that posted here already..? Swear it was.
Not sure. I didn't want to search 30+ pages though.