Projectile with larger coll
- CaptainPoopface
- Posts: 408
- Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 7:56 am
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Projectile with larger coll
I need a projectile that has a [coll] model about as big as a wraith mortar or soccer ball. Right now, I have a big projectile that reacts to forces (nearby explosions), but not direct impact.
From what I understand, a simple [coll] swap doesn't work, because collision for obstacles has to be specially transmogrified by the obstacle palette. DeTox's coll tool only imports and exports .obj files that have the same faces(?), so you have to modify the .obj in a 3D modeling program, which I don't have and don't want to get into.
Is there a free and easy way to modify the [coll] model? I have a model resizer program, but it only opens [mode] tags. I also poked around ages ago in a BSP collision editor, but I don't know if that would work for all obj files. Has someone already enlarged the plasma grenade [coll] to 10X the regular size in a mod that I might borrow? Other ideas?
I feel like I'm up the creek here.
From what I understand, a simple [coll] swap doesn't work, because collision for obstacles has to be specially transmogrified by the obstacle palette. DeTox's coll tool only imports and exports .obj files that have the same faces(?), so you have to modify the .obj in a 3D modeling program, which I don't have and don't want to get into.
Is there a free and easy way to modify the [coll] model? I have a model resizer program, but it only opens [mode] tags. I also poked around ages ago in a BSP collision editor, but I don't know if that would work for all obj files. Has someone already enlarged the plasma grenade [coll] to 10X the regular size in a mod that I might borrow? Other ideas?
I feel like I'm up the creek here.
Retired. Thank you neodos, DemonicSandwich, DarkShallFall, Dragonfire, foxfanatic2317, GOWO and everyone in the hall of fame.
If you want to know how I did something, take apart my mods.
If you want to know how I did something, take apart my mods.
- grimdoomer
- Posts: 1440
- Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 4:36 pm
![]() |
a little something I learned from -DeToX-:
phmo - player collision
coll - bullet collision
hope that helps.
phmo - player collision
coll - bullet collision
hope that helps.

AI Zones in MP | Ambiance | Gravemind Beta v1.1
Aumaan Anubis wrote:Grimdoomer. The first person ever to mod Halo 2 Vista.
yea you need to change the phmo, switch to a suitable phmo compatible with my app then scale it

Halo 2 Plugins | Lock-on To Just About Anything | My Sites | Snow Hog
Old Plugins you have, upgrade you must...
Always Maintain a High Quality-To-Crap Ratio.
- CaptainPoopface
- Posts: 408
- Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 7:56 am
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Thanks, I understand the difference between coll and phmo. I'd like to get both working, but coll is what I really want.
I'm hacking at it right now.
I'm hacking at it right now.
Retired. Thank you neodos, DemonicSandwich, DarkShallFall, Dragonfire, foxfanatic2317, GOWO and everyone in the hall of fame.
If you want to know how I did something, take apart my mods.
If you want to know how I did something, take apart my mods.
- DarkShallFall
- Posts: 1992
- Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 2:49 pm
- Location: MI, USA
- Contact:
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Coll effects your camera and projectiles. Phmo is for player collision. Im thinking you want to be able to shoot the bullet flying at you? Try Detox's Coll Tool

Iron_Forge wrote:I assume I won?..I should get an emblem...
- CaptainPoopface
- Posts: 408
- Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 7:56 am
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Yes, I want to be able to shoot the projectile with another projectile.
I have tried Detox's Coll Tool. I extracted the .obj for the frag grenade, then used BSP Master to manually edit the vertices. There are only 5. I multiplied all the coordinates by 100. When I look at the collision model in Entity's collision viewer, it is indeed 100 times bigger than the original. But the projectiles don't collide with each other, or with a biped, or with other projectiles, except at the EXACT center, as neodos says. It doesn't make any sense to me.
If you shoot a weightless plasma grenade from a gun with 0 velocity, it will float in the air. You can then walk right up to it and melee it, sending it flying forward. But the plasma grenade does not have a phmo, so I think it's something in the coll, or some other property of the projectile. I don't think it's the phmo.
I also tried enlarging the phmo of the assault bomb with Xzodia's program, and then swapped the hlmt of the grenade with the assault bomb. There was no change in the phmo behavior either (collision with the BSP).
I'm beginning to suspect it's not possible, but I'll try a couple more tricks. As a workaround, does anyone know how to make a bloc float in the air? I've tried setting the weight to 0 before and it hasn't worked.
I have tried Detox's Coll Tool. I extracted the .obj for the frag grenade, then used BSP Master to manually edit the vertices. There are only 5. I multiplied all the coordinates by 100. When I look at the collision model in Entity's collision viewer, it is indeed 100 times bigger than the original. But the projectiles don't collide with each other, or with a biped, or with other projectiles, except at the EXACT center, as neodos says. It doesn't make any sense to me.
If you shoot a weightless plasma grenade from a gun with 0 velocity, it will float in the air. You can then walk right up to it and melee it, sending it flying forward. But the plasma grenade does not have a phmo, so I think it's something in the coll, or some other property of the projectile. I don't think it's the phmo.
I also tried enlarging the phmo of the assault bomb with Xzodia's program, and then swapped the hlmt of the grenade with the assault bomb. There was no change in the phmo behavior either (collision with the BSP).
I'm beginning to suspect it's not possible, but I'll try a couple more tricks. As a workaround, does anyone know how to make a bloc float in the air? I've tried setting the weight to 0 before and it hasn't worked.
Retired. Thank you neodos, DemonicSandwich, DarkShallFall, Dragonfire, foxfanatic2317, GOWO and everyone in the hall of fame.
If you want to know how I did something, take apart my mods.
If you want to know how I did something, take apart my mods.
i found something interesting a long time ago, never posted cause i forgot its value location, and that is the size of a projectile. Apparently in the proj tag there is a float that effects the radius of the projectile and thus increasing the area it has to hit something.

"Before you criticize someone, walk a mile in their shoes. That way after you make fun of them, you still have their shoes."-Dranciel ಠ_ಠScottyGee wrote:Smokers suck >_< (to avoid someone saying it later, both literally and in the derogatory way)
- DemonicSandwich
- Posts: 1198
- Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 6:10 pm
- Location: �
![]() |
![]() |
<float name="Collision Radius" offset="200" visible="True" />turk645 wrote:i found something interesting a long time ago, never posted cause i forgot its value location
I think its this^
If you have xzodia's plugin, it this value is located just above the Min and Max Explosion Delay's.
AIM wrote:Demonic5andwich (6:10:10 PM): structure of a first person weapon animation:
Demonic5andwich (6:10:43 PM): mess, mess, maybe a node?, another header?! wtf!, more mess, tacos, more shit
- CaptainPoopface
- Posts: 408
- Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 7:56 am
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Yes, I saw the collision radius field and tried playing with it. It doesn't seem to do anything. Grenades have a collision radius of 0.1, and the wraith mortar has something larger, I think 0.5. I set it to various values within and beyond that range and noticed no changes in collision with projectiles, bipeds, blocs, the BSP, etc.
I can't be the first to have had this idea/problem. Hasn't anyone made a projectile with BIG collision? There must be a way.
I can't be the first to have had this idea/problem. Hasn't anyone made a projectile with BIG collision? There must be a way.
Retired. Thank you neodos, DemonicSandwich, DarkShallFall, Dragonfire, foxfanatic2317, GOWO and everyone in the hall of fame.
If you want to know how I did something, take apart my mods.
If you want to know how I did something, take apart my mods.
- bumlove
- Posts: 305
- Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 1:17 pm
- Location: Islamic fundamentlist capital of europe, seriously my home town is a hole
![]() |
I tried meta faking (I suppose you did too) no joy
as a point to ponder acemods spiker nade has the coll of the smg it makes me wonder why
If you do manage one of your famously dirty work arounds please share as I have a grenade that needs bigger collision too
A weird thing is my back pack bomb (grenade) (upcoming) has the htlm of a battery and to get the model of the backpack on I faked the model over the battery model (it looses explosion jpt if I swap .mode in the hlmt, I'm probably doing it wrong, Anyway ) but it seems to have the coll of the backpack although nowhere does it point to it, there has to be something within the mode tag thats doing this
*edit wait a minute have I just answered the question? you want the collision of a soccer ball, is your projectile as big as a soccer ball? just give it the hltm of the soccer ball and aply the proj's shaders, health&shields and what not*
*Re Edit I doubt I have answered the question*
as a point to ponder acemods spiker nade has the coll of the smg it makes me wonder why
If you do manage one of your famously dirty work arounds please share as I have a grenade that needs bigger collision too
A weird thing is my back pack bomb (grenade) (upcoming) has the htlm of a battery and to get the model of the backpack on I faked the model over the battery model (it looses explosion jpt if I swap .mode in the hlmt, I'm probably doing it wrong, Anyway ) but it seems to have the coll of the backpack although nowhere does it point to it, there has to be something within the mode tag thats doing this
*edit wait a minute have I just answered the question? you want the collision of a soccer ball, is your projectile as big as a soccer ball? just give it the hltm of the soccer ball and aply the proj's shaders, health&shields and what not*
*Re Edit I doubt I have answered the question*
never underestimate the predictability of stupidity
- CaptainPoopface
- Posts: 408
- Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 7:56 am
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Cross pollination from other Halo games
Check out this postfrom 3.5 years ago. It's for Halo PC, but I suspect the collision works very similarly for the whole Halo series.
Note that in the first post, the author mentions multiplying a different set of values that seem related to collision attributes:
Note that in the first post, the author mentions multiplying a different set of values that seem related to collision attributes:
So he changed not only the dimensions of the model, but some other "attribute" values as well. Does anyone know where these values would be, how to find them, and how to change them for H2 maps? I'm hoping someone will get a lightbulb over his head here...Ang88 wrote:To stretch the verts out to where I wanted them I multiplied each Y coord 5x for each set of verts.
That almost did the trick.
Now, near the middle of the collision model meta there are 6 more important packets of data (each 0x10 bytes), which I believe are all floats, beginning at offset 0x269EC08.
I believe these numbers are attributes of the collision model.
The one's I changed are at the end of the 3rd & 4th packets.
The specific floats I changed are @ offsets 0x269EC34 & 0x269EC44.
I'm not exactly sure what these are, but I know that they affect the surface of the collision model. I multiplied them 5x.
Done.
Retired. Thank you neodos, DemonicSandwich, DarkShallFall, Dragonfire, foxfanatic2317, GOWO and everyone in the hall of fame.
If you want to know how I did something, take apart my mods.
If you want to know how I did something, take apart my mods.
they're just meta values...

Halo 2 Plugins | Lock-on To Just About Anything | My Sites | Snow Hog
Old Plugins you have, upgrade you must...
Always Maintain a High Quality-To-Crap Ratio.